New York City, post

I lived in Cobble Hill, Brooklyn, from 1974 to 1976, and the Brooklyn Promenade, with its cleansing view of the Manhattan skyline, was the target of many a nice walk. This photo was taken in 2002 when I revisited with my son after 9/11. We had visited the site, with all the notes, photos and tributes, the day before. Unlike that physical expression of grief, there is a sense of physical absence in the picture that complements the calm closeness of the couple. I knew the second I saw the scene that it was a B&W picture and I shot it that way. When I look at this photo I still have a sense of something missing, like a phantom limb.

New York, from the Brooklyn Promenade, 2002.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

