Chick seller, Belize City Market, Belize 2004

The market had just closed and he hadn’t sold many chicks. He was sitting there with another old reprobate, talking about how to get drunk, when I walked by. So they hit me up. “I not kill ’em” he said holding up a chick, “for two dolla.” I gave him two dollars to let me take his picture.” The other one put his hands over his face, but the chick seller was thirsty. The photo reminds me of Picasso’s “The Old Guitarist.”

This entry was posted in Belize, portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

