Michael Clune, Writing Against Time, at Nighttown

clune1

“Writers want to create vivid images. But is philosophy really so extrinsic to this work? I want to call this assumption into question … Is it true that everyday perception is vivid? The color of the sky on my way to work, the flowers in my neighbors’ yard, my neighbors’ faces — is this really what writers seeking vivacity seek to imitate? I don’t have a particularly vivid impression of the sky on my way to work. I couldn’t say what colors my neighbors’ flowers are. In fact, I’m not even certain that they have flowers. I will shortly present evidence that the feebleness of everyday perception is not my private tragedy.”

Writing Against Time (2)

http://www.amazon.com/Writing-Against-Time-Michael-Clune/dp/0804770824

This entry was posted in Cleveland, writers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

