Sonia and Robert Delaunay : They got it round.

IMG_1633

I loved their work when I was 15, and then became too sophisticated for it. Orphism, with the big O. But I came back. I sat on the O’divan. What a pair of improbables, what pleasure in their geometric innocence. Did you know that Sonia lived to be 95 and was painting on autos – it reminds me of Janis Joplin’s Porsche — in 1969. She only died in 1979. She flowed along with time but was always true to her inner palette and forms of being.

Sarah Ilinitchna Stern, as you born, if you are listening – you still delight!

This Matra that you painted, I would drive proudly down my street:

800px-MatraM530_SoniaDelaunay

This entry was posted in France, painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

