A Traveler’s Moon

DSCN2183 .

A traveler, I came from south of the river,
when the moon was only a crescent.
In my long, distant journeying
three times I’ve seen its full clear light.
At dawn I travel with waning moon,
at night I lodge with the new moon.
Who says the moon has no feelings?
It kept me company hundreds of miles.
In the morning I began at the Wei River bridge,
In the evening I enter the streets of Ch’ang-an.
But I wonder about the moon tonight –
In whose house will it sleep?

– Po Chu-yi (translated by Chiang Yee)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

