Whose holocaust ?

Berlin Holocaust Memorial..

Twenty-two and backpacking across Europe,
I stopped at Dachau, for a sad rainy day,
then plunged on onto the Black Forest.
In my thirties I went to Bergen-Belsen,
and I remember nothing. Living in Vienna,
in my forties, I went to Auschwitz twice:
first alone, on a cold November day, seeing
Birkenau cradled in the arms of the Vistula
river from a nearby hilltop, sharing a cigarette
with a Japanese guy who came overland from
Mongolia, our tiny braziers of flame cupped
against cold death. I was thinking about
Hiroshima. Irony. No language between us.
That was before I lived there, learned about
Mongolia, why a Japanese kid would be interested
in prison camps. Later that year I came
with my daughter, who dissolved in tears.
Living in Japan, I went to Tuol Sleng
before they spiffed it up. The Stasi jail
in Berlin was a luxury hotel after that–
the Khmer kept torture simple. Even the
Russians’ feared Trubetsky Prison
had a sauna. But what have I learned
from all this atrocity tourism? Why these
museums, when the seven million Ukrainians
starved by Stalin don’t even get a plaque?
What about Armenians, and Palestinians?
Only the involuntary seizure of your space
your body space, gives you any idea:
The ‘standing cell’ of Maximilian Kolbe
in Auschwitz, where he wrote prayers
on the wall — he had founded a monastery
at Nagasaki, that was a post-irony for me;
or the leg-log at Tuol Sleng, to which all
prisoners were shackled, shitting and dying
together. Or the walk between these black
monoliths, alone, inside gay Berlin.

This entry was posted in Germany, Russia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

